Alice Maxine Bowie Fellowship

The Alice Maxine Bowie Fellowship program has been discontinued as of 2017. If you're interested in becoming a sponsor for this or a similar program, please email [email protected]. See below for information on the fellowship from 2011 to 2016. 

A year-long literary immersion for a Lighthouse writer

The Alice Maxine Bowie Fellowship sponsored a member of the Lighthouse writing community for a full year of literary support and involvement at Lighthouse. This fellowship was formed in honor of the great Alice Maxine Bowie, who believes everyone has a right to a meaningful education, that much of our most meaningful education comes from literature, and that the world benefits from hearing stories.

While Lighthouse has always emphasized accessibility, this award offered a depth and consistency of involvement to the fellowship recipient. The year-long award period not only engages the writer in directed literary activities, but also allows for full immersion in a project or body of work. At the close of the fellowship year, the community is enriched through the opportunity to hear and celebrate the fellowship recipient, who will read from what they’ve written during the year.

Previous winners: 

  • Jesica Carson Davis (2016)
  • Cynthia Wong (2015)
  • Tessa Cheek (2014)
  • Kimberly O'Connor (2013)
  • Courtney Zenner (2012)
  • Laura Bond (2011)

Questions? Contact [email protected].