Welcome to Lighthouse

"Lighthouse makes me hopeful about the future of the arts in America." --George Saunders

"[Lighthouse has] created a beautiful community and all I can think, back here in my studio in Brooklyn, is how lucky Denver is to have you.” --Mary Morris

 

 

 

 

Join us for these upcoming events:

 

A Shakespearean Salon with John Cotter
Thursday nights, July 16 thru August 6, 5:00 to 7:30 PM
@Lighthouse Attic

 

Denver County Fair
Friday, July 31 thru Sunday, August 2
@National Western Complex, 4655 Humboldt Street, Denver, CO

 

Writer's Buzz: Alice Maxine Bowie Reading with Tessa Cheek
Saturday, August 1, 6:00 to 9:00 PM
@Lighthouse 1st Floor and Grotto, 1515 Race Street

 

Write Denver: "To the Lighthouse"
Saturday, August 8, 2:00 to 5:00 PM
@Lighthouse, 1515 Race Street

 

Friday 500
Friday, August 14, 4:30 to 6:30 PM
@Lighthouse 1st Floor and Grotto, 1515 Race Street

 

Back-to-School Party + Beacon Award
Saturday, August 15, 6:00 to 8:00 PM
@Lighthouse, 1515 Race Street

 

Free Reception, Reading, & Q&A with Eli Gottlieb
Friday, September 4, 6:30 PM
@Lighthouse Grotto, 1515 Race Street

 

The Late Summer Session is online.

Check out these workshops and craft classes:

 

8 Week: Intro to Personal Narrative
led by John Cotter
begins Monday, August 17

 

4-Week: Reading as a Writer--Dave Eggers Does Nonfiction
led by Helen Thorpe
begins Tuesday, August 18

 

8-Week: Writing Apocalyptic Fiction
led by Alexander Lumans
begins Tuesday, August 18

 

8-Week: "The Room"—Writing for TV's One-Hour Drama
led by Sibyl Gardner
begins Tuesday, August 18

 

8-Week Writing the Novella
led by Lindsey Drager
begins Wednesday, August 19

 

What Would a Dragon Declare? Writing from a Mythic Creature's Point of View
[Collaboration with the Denver Museum of Nature and Science]
Sunday, August 23, 1:00 to 3:00 PM
@Denver Museum of Nature & Science, 2001 Colorado Blvd
For young writers in grades 4-8

 

 

Nominate your favorite instructor for the Beacon Award
Deadlne is July 31

 

© 2014, Lighthouse Writers Workshop.   All rights reserved.   |  1515 Race St, Denver, CO 80206    |   ph 303-297-1185   |  info@lighthousewriters.org