JaneDNU Hirshfield

JaneDNU Hirshfield's picture
  • Lit Fest
JaneDNU Hirshfield

Contact Info:

In addition to the courses she's teaching below, Jane will be featured in our free Happy Hour Reading: Sarah M. Broom and Jane Hirshfield on 6/10. (Registration required)

Jane Hirshfield's nine poetry books include The Beauty, long-listed for the 2015 National Book Award; Given Sugar, Given Salt, a finalist for the 2001 National Book Critics Circle Award; and After, short-listed for England’s T.S. Eliot Award and named a “best book of 2006” by The Washington Post, The San Francisco Chronicle, and England’s Financial Times. Her two collections of essays have become classics in their field, as have her four books collecting and co-translating the work of world poets from the past. Hirshfield’s ninth poetry collection will be Ledger (Knopf, March 10, 2020). Hirshfield’s other honors include The Poetry Center Book Award; fellowships from the Guggenheim and Rockefeller Foundations, the National Endowment for the Arts, and the Academy of American Poets; Columbia University’s Translation Center Award;  The California Book Award, Northern California Book Reviewers Award, and the Donald Hall-Jane Kenyon Prize in American Poetry. Her work appears in The New Yorker, The Atlantic, The Times Literary Supplement, The New York Review of Books, Poetryand ten editions of The Best American Poetry. In fall 2004, Jane Hirshfield was awarded the 70th Academy Fellowship for distinguished poetic achievement by The Academy of American Poets. In 2012, she was elected a Chancellor of the Academy of American Poets. In March 2019 she was voted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Hirshfield has taught at Stanford University, UC Berkeley, Duke University, Bennington College, and elsewhere. An intimate and profound master of her art, her frequent appearances at universities, writers’ conferences and festivals in this country and abroad are highly acclaimed. 

JaneDNU Hirshfield's Published Work